Mercedes new naming system and return to Maybach

Mercedes Benz joined the new naming system trend that many manufacturers adopted, with the likes of Cadilac, Infiniti, and BMW due to the increased complexity of their model range. The new naming system is very similar to Mercedes’s old naming system and remains familiar and harmonized.

for 2015 Mercedes Benz decided to split its line up into 4 different categories that have 14 different model types in total, making it much easier to distinguish for the average user. The naming system is split into categories dependant on one another.

In the Offroad | SUV category


2015 Mercedes G Class – Standard G-Wagen

2015 Mercedes GLA – New crossover based on the A-Class

2015 Mercedes GLC – The new GLK – renamed to GLC to maintain line up hierarchy

2015 Mercedes GLE – The new M-Class 4 dour coupe, renamed to GLE to maintain hierarchy (no more ML)

2015 Mercedes GLS – The S Class of the GL – SUV Luxury at its finest.

The naming frenzy didn’t stop there, Mercedes Benz also released its model drive system naming sheet, while maintaining the numeric engine designations such as S500, GLS500, G55 and A250 etc… The four door coupes like the CLA and the CLS stay unchanged, the SLK is replaced by the SLC and the SL-Class remains unchanged due to its heritage in the Mercedes history files.

The drive system sheet consists of the familiar options previously offered by Mercedes Benz, with a very nice and simple change. No longer will you see “plug-in hybrid” but instead “E” or CDI|Bluetech but instead “D”. Making the name range a bit simpler with models like the E-500 D for example.

While AMG models get their own naming representation “Mercedes-AMG” removing the “Benz” from the equation, like the new Mercedes-AMG C63. The Maybach is seen to return as a new top of the line S Class named as the Mercedes-Benz Maybach S600.

Bookmark the permalink.