Formula One Mexican Grand Prix: Mercedes AMG’s Nico Rosberg Flawless Finish


Perhaps one of the most interesting Formula One World Championships takes place in Mexico’s “Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez” thanks to turn 17 which is one of the fastest and most intimidating corners in Formula One history, known to claim F1 driver Rodríguez life during a crash. The government then decided to honor the driver by naming the circuit after him.

Mercedes AMG went on top with an unstoppable streak that saw Nico Rosberg ahead of teammate current champion Lewis Hamilton, Nico displayed flawless skills and managed to create an amazing gap of 1.954 seconds during the 71 laps with Lewis Hamilton making it the 10th one-two finish for the German Petronas this season.

Mercedes Amgs Lewis Hamilton takes part in an exhibition wrestling match prior to the 2015 Mexican Grand Prix

Third and fourth place saw Williams and Infiniti Red Bull Racing battling it out fiercely with Williams driver Valtteri Bottas finishing in third after Lewis Hamilton, 14.5 seconds behind the podium finisher Nico Rosberg, this happened due to a crash by Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel that allowed Bottas to overtake Red Bull’s Daniil Kvyat during the restart for the final podium spot although he managed to recover keeping the gap between him and Bottas to just 2.0 seconds. Daniel Ricciardo wasn’t fortunate enough to be third but instead finished fifth ahead of Williams’ Felipe Massa who ended up in sixth place with a gap of 2.0 seconds between the two.

Rosberg defeats Hamilton in tense Mexican Grand Prix

Ferrari had an awful day from the get-go, Sebastian Vettel made contact with Infiniti’s Daniel Ricciardo in turn 1 at the beginning of the race which caused Vettels car to get a puncture forcing him to pit while on lap 17 he spun out and towards the end of the race he crashed at turn 7 obviously retiring Ferrari with Kimi Räikkönen crashing at lap 22 after contact with Bottas.

Force Indian managed seventh place with Nico Hulkenberg finishing ahead of teammate Sergio Perez who was playing on his home-turf while ninth place went to Max Verstappen from Toro Rosso seeing team Lotus in 10th and 11th.

McLaren suffered a horrible day as well with Fernando Alonso’s engine problems that forced him to retire and Jenson Button facing power delivery issues landed him in 14th position while Saubr’s Felipe Nasr’s car faced brake issues forcing him to retire as well.


These are the official results for the 2015 Formula One Mexican Grand Prix.

1) Nico Rosberg, Mercedes AMG

2) Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes AMG
3) Valtteri Bottas, Williams
4) Daniil Kvyat, Infiniti Red Bull Racing
5) Daniel Ricciardo, Infiniti Red Bull Racing
6) Felipe Massa, Williams
7) Nico Hulkenberg, Force India
8) Sergio Perez, Force India
9) Max Verstappen, Toro Rosso
10) Romain Grosjean, Lotus
11) Pastor Maldonado, Lotus
12) Marcus Ericsson, Sauber
13) Carlos Sainz, Toro Rosso
14) Jenson Button, McLaren
15) Alexander Rossi, Marussia
16) Will Stevens, Marussia
Retired) Felipe Nasr, Sauber
Retired) Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
Retired) Kimi Räikkönen, Ferrari
Retired) Fernando Alonso, McLaren

Bookmark the permalink.